The Fight For The First British Seven Champion Begins This Weekend

The Fight For The First British Seven Champion Begins This Weekend

This weekend sees the first round of the brand-new Avon Tyres Seven Championship UK, the first (and only) National-Level Caterham Racing Series.  Now, although we’re starting our season a little later than normal, we’ve made sure to squeeze ten rounds into five action packed weekends. 

The Seven Championship sees the crème-de-la-crème of Seven racers battle it out to become the first ever National Caterham Champion.  A race grid features high-quality drivers, some of which have worked their way through our motorsport ladder and climbed the ranks as some of the most competitive racers on circuit.  You won't find a higher tier of Caterham Racing.  The championship is also sponsored by our official 


To make the racing doubly-entertaining, every single car on track follows strict regulations – so it really is down to the skill of the driver.   You can expect wheel to wheel racing, dramatic overtakes and so much more. 

So, how does a race weekend look?  Well, when it comes to qualifying, each weekend features a SuperPole shootout. This follows the main qualifying session, with the top drivers battling for pole position in Race 1.  Additional bonus points for the season are awarded to the top three finishers: First place receives 3 points, second place is awarded 2 points and third place scores an additional 1 point.

If you want to come along and check out the racing for yourself, you’ll need to head over to the website for each circuit.  Numbers may be limited to ensure a safe environment for staff and visitors.  Check out the full season below.

Ahead of being awarded National status, our championship (formerly known as the 420R championship) we’ve seen numerous legendary competitors, including; six-time Olympic cycling champion Sir Chris Hoy, Formula One commentator Ben Edwards, Isle of Man TT hero Guy Martin, inaugural W Series champion and Williams F1 development driver Jamie Chadwick and former British GT champions Flick Haigh and Jon Barnes.

This year we enter our 30th season of motor racing – and we aren’t showing any signs of slowing down.  It’s time to put the medal to the metal, and crown our first ever British Caterham Seven Champion.  Catch us at Cadwell.... if you can. 


To read more on the Seven Championship UK, click here